LERA - Locate, Explore, Retrace and Apprehend complex text variants

LERA is an interactive, digital tool for inspecting similarities and differences between multiple versions of a text. To achieve this, LERA divides the texts into passages and displays them next to each other. Using colored highlighting, differences between versions can be located easily in a critical apparatus. LERA features a variety of tools for efficiently exploring differences between versions of texts: an interactive outline visualization (CATview), interactive word clouds and clever search functionality. This way, LERA supports the user retrace and finally apprehend the authors intentions. LERA has been developed for collating texts to provide a basis for historical critical editions. Give it a try!

# Main features

# Examples

Histoire des deux Indes

The Histoire philosophique et politique des établissements et du commerce des Européens dans les deux Indes by Abbé Raynal (1713-1796) is one of the most influential, successful and scandalous books of 18th century Europe. Its subject matter is the critical history of the european colonial expansion in ‚both’ parts of India, meaning the ‚eastern’ part of India (Asia) as well as predominantely in the ‚western’ part of India (Carribbean and Latin America). After the initial version from 1770, which was banned instantaneously in France, three more versions of the Histoire were released (1774, 1780 and posthumous 1820) containing substantial changes.
This example shows Livre VI in a paragraph-segmented synoptical overview of all four versions. Histoire

Buscón

La vida del Buscón (or Historia de la vida del Buscón, llamado don Pablos; ejemplo de vagamundos y espejo de tacaños) is a 17th century spanish rogue novel. Authorship of this initially annonymously published text is accredited to Francisco de Quevedo (1580-1645), who never officially claimed to be the author, presumably to avoid difficulties with the Inquisition.
The first printed edition was published in Zaragoza (Z) in 1626. Of the manuscript versions that have been in (mostly secret) circulation between 1604 and 1620, two named after their storage sites Salamanca (S) and Córdoba (C) as well as one dating to 1640 from the personal belongings of librarian Juan José Bueno (B) have been recorded.
This excerpt follows the critical edition by Alfonso Rey and compares the first chapter of the Buscón. Buscón

Rumpelstilzchen

Based on a popular fairy tale, the story of Rumpelstilzchen (engl. Rumpelstiltskin) is contained in the Kinder- und Hausmärchen by brothers Grimm (KHM 55).
This example compares the seven versions of the fairy tale published between 1812 and 1857 using a sentence-wise segmentation. Rumpelstilzchen

LERA - Locate, Explore, Retrace and Apprehend complex text variants

LERA ist eine interaktive, webbasierte Arbeitsumgebung zur Untersuchung von Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschieden zwischen mehreren Fassungen eines Textes (Textvergleich und Kollationierung). Die Texte werden dazu von LERA in Passagen unterteilt und synoptisch gegenübergestellt. Unterschiede werden farbig hervorgehoben und in einem gemeinsamen Variantenapparat aufgeschlüsselt, sodass sie leicht lokalisiert werden können. Das Werkzeug bietet mit der Übersichtsleiste CATview, interaktiven Wortwolken und cleverer Suchefunktionalität verschiedene Ansätze zum effizienten Erkunden der Textunterschiede. So werden das Nachvollziehen und schließlich das Verstehen der Intention des Autors bei der Änderung effektiv unterstüzt. LERA wurde für das Kollationieren als Grundlage für die Erstellung historisch-kritischer Ausgaben und Editionen entwickelt. Ausprobieren!

# Kernpunkte

# Beispieltexte

Histoire des deux Indes

Die Histoire philosophique et politique des établissements et du commerce des Européens dans les deux Indes von Abbé Raynal (1713-1796) ist eines der gesamteuropäisch einflussreichsten Erfolgs- und Skandalbücher des europäischen 18. Jahrhunderts. Ihr Inhalt ist die kritische Geschichte der europäischen Kolonialexpansion in ‚beiden’ Indien, d.h. sowohl im ‚östlichen’ Indien (Asien), als vor allem auch im ‚westlichen’ Indien (Karibik und Lateinamerika). Nach der Erstfassung von 1770, die in Frankreich sofort verboten wurde, erschienen drei weitere umfangreich überarbeitete Fassungen der Histoire (1774, 1780 und postum 1820).
Das Beispiel zeigt Livre VI in einer absatzweisen Synopse aller vier Fassungen. Histoire

Buscón

La vida del Buscón (o Historia de la vida del Buscón, llamado don Pablos; ejemplo de vagamundos y espejo de tacaños) ist ein spanischer Schelmenroman aus dem 17. Jahrhundert. Als Verfasser des zunächst anonym erschienenen Textes gilt Francisco de Quevedo (1580-1645), der die Autorschaft offiziell nie bestätigte, vermutlich um Schwierigkeiten mit der Inquisition zu vermeiden.
Der Erstdruck erschien 1626 in Zaragoza (Z), von den zwischen 1604 und 1620 – häufig geheim zirkulierenden – Manuskriptfassungen sind zwei nach ihren Aufbewahrungorten Salamanca (S) und Córdoba (C) benannte Manuskripte sowie ein Exemplar von 1640 aus dem Besitz des Bibliotekars Juan José Bueno (B) überliefert.
Der Auszug folgt der kritischen Edition von Alfonso Rey und vergleicht das erste Kapitel des Buscón. Buscón

Rumpelstilzchen

Das auf einem Volksmärchen basierende Rumpelstilzchen ist in den Kinder- und Hausmärchen der Brüder Grimm (KHM 55) enthalten.
Im Beispiel werden die sieben zwischen 1812 und 1857 erschienenen Fassungen des Märchens in Teilsätze segmentiert und miteinander verglichen. Rumpelstilzchen